A password will be e-mailed to you. Cancel

  • Most Respected Classical Music Platform
  • #classicalForever

BREAKING | Ioana Cristina Goicea Awarded 1st Prize at New Zealand’s Michael Hill Comp

24 year old Ioana Cristina Goicea from Romania has been awarded 1st prize at the 2017 Michael Hill International Violin Competition

24 year old Ioana Cristina Goicea from Romania has, just minutes ago, been awarded 1st prize at the 2017 Michael Hill International Violin Competition, in Auckland, New Zealand.

A graduate of the University of Music in Leipzig, and current graduate student of 2017 jury member Krzysztof Wegrzyn at the University of Music in Hannover, Ioana Cristina is a former major prize winner at the Kreisler, Brahms and Postacchini International Violin Competitions.

Ioana Cristina will receive NZ $40,000 (US $31,000), a recording on the Atoll label, an intensive New Zealand and Australia performance tour, a custom-designed suit or gown – and a personalised professional career development programme.




“Nineteen years ago the idea for this Competition was sparked and, since inception, has never faltered in standard or its ability to put violinists on the international stage ..." Competition founder, Sir Michael Hill has said.

“Tonight’s winner was a competitor four years ago and at the time said wouldn’t return until she was capable of winning ... she’s worked very hard and her playing has matured - she proved what commitment, perseverance and tenacity can do,” he has said.

2nd and 3rd prizes were awarded to 26 year old Luke Hsu from the United States and 26 year old Benjamin Baker from New Zealand.

4th, 5th and 6th prizes were awarded to 23 year old Olga Stroubkova from the Czech Republic, 20 year old Sumina Studer from Switzerland and 24 year old Kunwha Lee from South Korea.

Olga Sroubkova was awarded the prize for the best performance of the New Zealand commissioned work – ‘On an Imaginary Folk Song’ by Karlo Margetic.

The prize for the best performance in the Mozart Quintet chamber music round was awarded to Luke Hsu.

This year's internet audience prize was awarded to 20 year old Sumina Studer from Switzerland.

The 2017 jury comprised: Pamela Frank from the United States, Ilya Gringolts from Russia, Dong-Suk Kang from South Korea, Vesa-Matti Leppanen from Finland, Silvia Marcovici from Romania, Dene Olding from Australia, Krzysztof Wegrzyn from Poland and Dr Robin Congreve from New Zealand.

upcoming events

june 2023

28mayAll Day16julSitka International Cello Seminar(All Day) The Miner Music Center at Stevenson Hall, 104 Jeff Davis St. Sitka, Alaska 99835Event Type :Other Event TagsSitka International Cello SeminarFOLLOW

02junAll Day10Michael Hill International Violin Competition(All Day) Auckland Town Hall, Queen Street, Auckland CBD, Auckland 1010, New ZealandEvent Type :competitions Event Tagscompetition,Michael Hill International Violin CompetitionFOLLOW

07jun8:30 pm10:30 pmVirtual EventNorth Shore Chamber Music Festival Presents: Fairy's Kiss8:30 pm - 10:30 pm Event Type :Streams Event TagsNorth Shore Chamber Music FestivalFOLLOW

08junAll Day18Bachfest Leipzig(All Day) Leipzig, LeipzigEvent Type :Other Event TagsBachfest,LeipzigFOLLOW

10jun8:30 pm10:30 pmVirtual EventNorth Shore Chamber Music Festival Presents: Your Heart's Desire8:30 pm - 10:30 pm Event Type :Streams Event TagsNorth Shore Chamber Music FestivalFOLLOW

23jun9:00 pm11:00 pmVirtual EventMinnesota Orchestra Presents "Juneteenth: Celebration of Freedom"9:00 pm - 11:00 pm Event Type :Streams Event TagsMinnesota OrchestraFOLLOW

july 2023

03julAll Day09Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition(All Day) Melbourne Recital Center, 31 Sturt Street, Southbank VIC 3006, AustraliaEvent Type :competitions Event TagsMelbourne International Chamber Music CompetitionFOLLOW

07julAll Day15The Malher Competition(All Day) Joseph-Keilberth-Saal, Konzerthalle Bamberg Mußstraße 1 96047 Bamberg GERMANYEvent Type :competitions Event Tagsconducting competition,The Malher CompetitionFOLLOW

14julAll Day23Festival Napa Valley — 15th Anniversary Edition(All Day) The CIA at Copia, 500 1st St, Napa, CA 94559Event Type :Other Event TagsFestival Napa ValleyFOLLOW


Get ALL our latest conveniently by EMAIL

Our newsletter is trusted by over 100,000+ industry professionals around the world

We deliver news straight to your inbox and will never share your data.
You'll never miss a beat!

click left click right