• Most Respected Classical Music Platform
  • #classicalForever

2022 Claudio Abbado Composition Prize Announced

Presented by the Karajan Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker, the award was given to South-Korean composer Donghoon Shin

As the winner, Shin will be commissioned to write a cello concerto in celebration of the Karajan Academy’s 50th anniversary, which is to be premiered in May 2022. It will be performed by Bruno Delepelaire, solo cellist of the Berliner Philharmonic, alongside musicians from the Berliner Philharmonic and the Karajan Academy, conducted by Kirill Petrenko.

Awarded at irregular intervals, the prize is in honour of the Berlin Philharmonic's Chief Conductor from 1989–2002.

Shin currently lives in London, pursuing a Ph.D. in composition under Sir George Benjamin at King’s College London. He previously studied composition at Seoul National University with Sukhi Kang and Uzong Choe, and at Guildhall School of Music and Drama with Julian Anderson.

His works have been performed by orchestras including the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, LA Philharmonic, and Bamberg Symphony Orchestra.


upcoming events

april 2024

23aprAll Day26Lyon International Chamber Music Competition(All Day) Université Lumière Lyon 2, 18 quai Claude Bernard 69365 Lyon, FranceEvent Type :competitions Event Tagschamber music,chamber music competition,Lyon International Chamber Music CompetitionFOLLOW

may 2024

06may01junQueen Elisabeth Violin Competition(may 6) 12:00 am - (june 1) 11:59 pm Flagey ASBL-VZW, Pl. Sainte-Croix, 1050 Bruxelles, BelgiumEvent Type :competitions Event Tagscompetition,Queen Elisabeth Violin Competition,violinFOLLOW

07mayAll Day13Prague Spring International Violin Competition(All Day) Rudolfinum, Alšovo nábř. 79/12, 110 00 Staré město-Staré Město, CzechiaEvent Type :competitions Event TagsPrague Spring International Violin Competition,violin competitionFOLLOW

10mayAll Day1251st Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition(All Day) University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN 46556 USAEvent Type :competitions Event TagsFischoff Chamber Music CompetitionFOLLOW

27mayAll Day31New York Classic Violin Competition(All Day) Manhattan School of Music, 130 Claremont Ave, New York, NY 10027Event Type :competitions Event TagsClassic Violin Olympus International Competition,violin competitionFOLLOW


Get ALL our latest conveniently by EMAIL

Our newsletter is trusted by over 100,000+ industry professionals around the world

We deliver news straight to your inbox and will never share your data.
You'll never miss a beat!

click left click right