American Academy of Arts and Letters Grants Awarded to 17 Composers

American Academy of Arts and Letters

The recipients of the 2016 American Academy of Arts and Letters grants have today been announced – including 17 contemporary composers.

Founded in 1898, the 250-member honor society whose goal is to foster, assist and sustain excellence in American literature, music and art – awards over 70 prizes annually.

Composers Robert Carl, Robert Kyr, Sean Shepherd and Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon will reach receive US $10,000 – to be used towards a recording of a work.

Keith Fitch was awarded the Walter Hinrichsen Award for the publication of a work.

Composer Brett Banducci will receive the US $10,000 Andrew Imbrue Award – as a composer of demonstrated artistic merit.

Hannah Lash and Eric Wubbels will each receive US $15,000 Charles Ives Fellowships.

Thomas Kotcheff, Scott Lee, Dylan Mattingly, Jeffrey Parola, Sonnet Swire and Lilliya Ugay will each receive $7500 Charles Ives Scholarships – as composition students of great promise.

Chai-Yu Hsu was awarded the US $10,000 Wladimir and Rhoda Lakond Award.

Huang Ruo and Amy Williams were each awarded the $15,000 Goddard Lieberson Fellowships.