Candidates Announced for Germany’s 2019 ARD International Cello Competition

The 64 candidates have been announced for the 2019 ARD International Cello Competition


The 64 candidates have been announced for the 2019 ARD International Cello Competition – to be held in Munich, Germany from 4th to the 13th of September.

The 2019 opening round candidates are:

  • VC Young Artist Ivan Karizna (Belarus)
  • Riana Anthony (United States)
  • Beata Antikainen (Finland)
  • Friederike Luise Arnholdt (Germany)
  • Basile Ausländer (France/Switzerland)
  • Joel Blido (Germany)
  • Nepomuk Braun (Germany)
  • Konstantin Bruns (Germany)
  • Pin-Jyun Chen (Taiwan)
  • Min Suk Cho (South Korea)
  • Ye Lin Stella Cho (South Korea)
  • Hayoung Choi (South Korea)
  • Yehjin Chun (South Korea)
  • Elia Cohen-Weissert (Germany/Israel)
  • John-Henry Crawford (United States)
  • Christoph Croisé (Germany/France/Switzerland)
  • Simone Drescher (Germany)
  • Chiara Enderle Samatanga (Switzerland)
  • Rolando Fernandez (Mexico)
  • Jeremias Fliedl (Austria)
  • Jérémy Garbarg (France)
  • Wassily Gerassimez (Germany)
  • Johannes Gray (United States)
  • Fedor Grigoriev (Russia)
  • Anouchka Hack (Germany)
  • Sihao He (China)
  • Christoph Heesch (Germany)
  • Natania Hoffman (Italy/United States)
  • Stéphanie Huang (Belgium)
  • Raphaël Jouan (France)
  • Minji Kang (South Korea)
  • Min Ji Kim (South Korea)
  • Stanislas Kim (France)
  • Marcel Johannes Kits (Estonia)
  • Anastasia Kobekina (Russia)
  • Maciej Kulakowski (Poland)
  • Benjamin Lai (United States/Taiwan)
  • Christine JeongHyoun Lee (South Korea)
  • Kanghyun Lee (South Korea)
  • Yeong-Kwang Lee (South Korea)
  • Olivier Marger (France)
  • Laura Moinian (Germany)
  • Guilherme Nardelli Monegatto (Brazil)
  • Dilshod Narzillaev (Uzbekistan)
  • Erica Piccotti (Italy)
  • Florian Pons (France)
  • Nadège Rochat (France/Switzerland)
  • Senja Rummukainen (Finland)
  • Haruma Sato (Japan)
  • Andreas Schmalhofer (Germany)
  • Katarina Schmidt (Germany/Sweden)
  • Lev Sivkov (Russia)
  • Oleksiy Shadrin (Ukraine)
  • Ivan Skanavi (Russia)
  • Anton Spronk (Netherlands/Switzerland)
  • Sayaka Selina Studer (Japan/Switzerland)
  • Ildikó Szabó (Hungary)
  • Laura Szabó (Hungary)
  • Friedrich Thiele (Germany)
  • Michiaki Ueno (Japan)
  • Volodia Van Keulen (France)
  • Guillaume Wang (Australia)
  • Sul Yoon (South Korea)

Open to cellists of any nationality born between 1988 and 2000, the 1st prize winner will receive €10,000 (US $11,500). 

The 2019 cello jury comprises: Lynn Harrell (Chairman), Ophélie Gaillard, Matt Haimovitz, Maria Kliegel, Torleif Thedéen, Tamás Varga and Pieter Wispelwey.

This year's ARD Competition will be held in 4 instrument categories: Cello, Clarinet, Bassoon and Percussion.

The Violin Channel, as the cello competition’s official media and broadcast partner, will be providing streaming coverage direct from Munich.