VC 'Young Artists' Augustin Hadelich & Itamar Zorman Nominated for $100,000 Warner Music Prize

Augustin Hadelich Itamar Zorman Warner Music Group Prize Cover

16 candidates, including VC 'Young Artists' Augustin Hadelich and Itamar Zorman, have today been announced as nominees for the inaugural 2015 Warner Music Group $100,000 classical music bursary.

Established with support from the Blavatnik Family Foundation and in association with Carnegie Hall, a $100,000 cash prize will be awarded to a classical singer or instrumentalist aged 18 to 35 presented by Carnegie Hall in a significant solo role during the 2014-2015 concert season, who has demonstrated exceptional talent and promise – regardless of any recording label affiliation.

“One of the primary missions of our foundation is to support and encourage creative young people in a diversity of disciplines,” Len Blavatnik, founder of the Blavatnik Family Foundation has said, “ … acknowledging and helping young musicians is essential if we are to see classical music thrive for generations to come.”

The 16 candidates under consideration are: VC 'Young Artists', violinists Augustin Hadelich and Itamar Zorman, cellist Brook Speltz, double bassist Roman Patkolo, harpist Sivan Magen, pianist Behzod Abduraimov, sopranos Sarah Shafer and Jennifer Zetlan, mezzo-sopranos Jamie Barton, Rachel Calloway, Cecelia Hall, Alisa Kolosova and Peabody Southwell, bass-baritones Aubrey Allicock and Evan Hughes and tenor Dominic Armstrong.

“The Warner Music Prize has been created to recognize and reward promising musicians early in their careers, when they need it the most,” Warner Music President Stu Bergen has said.

“We’re excited to partner with Warner Music Group as it launches the Warner Music Prize, shining a spotlight on the many exceptional young artists presented on the Hall’s three stages this season,” Carnegie Hall Executive and Artistic Director Clive Gillinson has said.

The candidates' performances will be evaluated by a jury of renowned classical musicians and industry leaders, with the winner to be showcased at Zankel Hall as part of the Warner Music Prize Gala on October 27, 2015 - and be offered the opportunity to record with the Warner Classical label.