• Most Respected Classical Music Platform
  • #classicalForever
(Image courtesy: Carnegie Hall)

Carnegie Hall Announces 2023 NYO2 Participants

Over 80 musicians have been selected for Carnegie Hall’s national orchestral training residency


Formed by the Weill Music Institute of Carnegie Hall in 2016, NYO2 recognizes exceptional young artists aged between 14 and 17. It is one of its three acclaimed summer ensembles that run for free, including the National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America (NYO-USA) and NYO Jazz — both for an older age group from 16 to 19.

During a two-week residency at Purchase College, State University of New York beginning in early July, musicians of the NYO2 summer program will collaborate with professionals from American orchestras and conservatories. They will be led by conductor Joseph Young for NYO2’s first international residency and performances in the Dominican Republic with guest artist, violinist Jennifer Koh.

This year’s NYO2 musicians hail from 30 U.S. states plus Puerto Rico and a range of backgrounds including communities that are underrepresented in classical music. Ten of its participants are NYO2 alumni. Click here for the full list of 2023 participants.

The 2023 program will also work with returning orchestra director James Ross and other faculty in preparation for its Carnegie Hall concert on July 15 with works by Sibelius, Prokofiev, and Bernstein, followed by two concerts in the Dominican Republic presented by Fundación Sinfonía.

“We are thrilled to congratulate the remarkable teen musicians who will come together as NYO2 this summer as the ensemble embarks on its first-ever international residency,” said Clive Gillinson, Carnegie Hall’s executive and artistic director. 

“These excellent young players will have the opportunity to share their talents with audiences at Carnegie Hall and in the Dominican Republic where they will serve as musical ambassadors for their country,” Gillinson added. “It’s also exciting to us that Joseph Young joins this year as guest conductor after many years playing a major role in mentoring and preparing these bright young musicians for their concerts.”

Tickets for NYO2’s Carnegie Hall concert will go on sale to the general public on April 24, 2023, at 11 AM. Discounted student tickets are available online for verified Student Insiders only.


Over the past six years, NYO2 has performed with the Philadelphia Orchestra, been in residency with the New World Symphony in Miami Beach, and performed at Carnegie Hall each year. Its collaborators have included Mei-Ann Chen, Aaron Diehl, Giancarlo Guerrero, Gabriela Montero, Carlos Miguel Prieto, Gil Shaham, and Esperanza Spalding.

upcoming events

april 2024

23aprAll Day26Lyon International Chamber Music Competition(All Day) Université Lumière Lyon 2, 18 quai Claude Bernard 69365 Lyon, FranceEvent Type :competitions Event Tagschamber music,chamber music competition,Lyon International Chamber Music CompetitionFOLLOW

may 2024

06may01junQueen Elisabeth Violin Competition(may 6) 12:00 am - (june 1) 11:59 pm Flagey ASBL-VZW, Pl. Sainte-Croix, 1050 Bruxelles, BelgiumEvent Type :competitions Event Tagscompetition,Queen Elisabeth Violin Competition,violinFOLLOW

07mayAll Day13Prague Spring International Violin Competition(All Day) Rudolfinum, Alšovo nábř. 79/12, 110 00 Staré město-Staré Město, CzechiaEvent Type :competitions Event TagsPrague Spring International Violin Competition,violin competitionFOLLOW

10mayAll Day1251st Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition(All Day) University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN 46556 USAEvent Type :competitions Event TagsFischoff Chamber Music CompetitionFOLLOW

27mayAll Day31New York Classic Violin Competition(All Day) Manhattan School of Music, 130 Claremont Ave, New York, NY 10027Event Type :competitions Event TagsClassic Violin Olympus International Competition,violin competitionFOLLOW


Get ALL our latest conveniently by EMAIL

Our newsletter is trusted by over 100,000+ industry professionals around the world

We deliver news straight to your inbox and will never share your data.
You'll never miss a beat!

click left click right