Semi-Finalists Announced at Gisborne International in New Zealand


The 14 Semi-finalists have today been announced at the 2014 Gisborne International Music Competition, in New Zealand.

Mary Osborn (Saxophone), Caleb Wong (Cello), Wendy Kong (Violin), Sean Lim (Clarinet), Rustem Khamidullin (Cello), Harim Oh (Clarinet), Catherine Kwak (Cello), Hugh Roberts (Flute), Anna Da Silva Chen (Violin), Heather Lewis (Cello), Lily Higson-Spence (Violin), Sam Lucas (Cello), Justin Sun (Bassoon) and Christopher Mui (Cello).

The annual competition, open to solo orchestral instrumentalists aged 16-25, is regarded as one of the most significant development bursaries in the Australasian region.

1st prize includes $8,000 NZD and a solo engagement with the Vector Wellington Orchestra.

The final round will conclude on the 6th of December.

The Violin Channel will keep you abreast of the results.

Pictured: 18-year-old violinist Anna Da Silva Chen from Australia