BREAKING | Korea’s Risus Quartet Awarded Grand Prize at Fischoff Chamber Music Competition

Founded in Seoul in 2020 and comprising violinists Haeni Lee and Jieun Yoo, violist Mary Eunkyung Chang and cellist Bobae Lee, the University of Texas-based quartet will receive US$13,500 plus a number of important domestic and international performance opportunities


The Risus Quartet has today been awarded the Senior Strings Division gold medal and Grand Prize at the 48th Annual Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, in Notre Dame, Indiana.



The silver medal in the Senior Strings Division was awarded to the Galvin Cello Quartet and joint-bronze prize was presented to the Rucheri Trio and the Trio Rai.

The gold medal in the Senior Wind Division was awarded to the University of Michigan-based Aero Saxophone Quartet.

The gold medal in the Junior String Division was awarded to the Aveta Trio.

The silver and bronze medals in the Junior String Division were awarded to the Lumière Quartet and the Chasqui Quartet.

The gold medal in Junior Wind Division was awarded to the Aurelian Saxophone Quartet.

Since its founding in 1973, more than 7,400 musicians have participated in the annual competition, including former Grand Prize recipients VC Artists Calidore QuartetUlysses, and the Dover Quartet.

The 2021 Senior String Jury comprises Julio Elizalde, Liz Freivogel, Michael Kannen, and Rachel Barton Pine.

The 2021 Senior Wind Jury comprises Valerie Coleman, Louis Hanzlik, Chien-Kwan Lin, and Gail Williams.

The 2021 Junior String Jury comprises Pamela Highbaugh Aloni, James Howsmon, and Karen Kim.

The 2021 Junior Wind Jury comprises Peter Ellefson, Kari Landry, and Zachary Shemon.