Semi-Finalists Announced at New York’s Concert Artists Guild Competition

The winner's announcement, to be held on June 8, will be live-streamed on The Violin Channel


The 2021 Semi-Finalists are:

  • VC Young Artist Yesong Sophie Lee (Violin)
  • VC Young Artist Anna Lee (Violin)
  • VC Young Artist Shannon Lee (Violin)
  • Maya Anjali Buchanan (Violin)
  • Leonard Fu (Violin)
  • Otoha Tabata (Viola)
  • Zhanbo Zheng (Viola)
  • Alexander Hersh (Cello)
  • Annie Jacobs-Perkins (Cello)
  • Chelsea de Souza (Piano)
  • Evren Ozel (Piano)
  • Anthony Ratinov (Piano)
  • Bokyung Byun (Guitar)
  • Xavier Jara (Guitar)
  • Amir Farsi (Flute)
  • Adam Sadberry (Flute)
  • Clifton Guidry (Bassoon)
  • Valentin Kovalev (Saxophone)
  • Stephanie Lamprea (Soprano)
  • Alyssa Barnes (Soprano)
  • Daniel Moody (Countertenor)
  • Shiqi Zhong (Percussion)
  • ARKAI (Violin/Cello Duo)
  • Balourdet String Quartet
  • Chromic Duo (Toy Piano Electric Duo)
  • ~Nois (Saxophone Quartet)
  • SirinCry (Crossover Quartet)
  • V Coloris (Wind Quintet)

This year’s winners will receive three years of artist management and career development on the roster of the Concert Artists Guild and Young Classical Artists Trust — including performance opportunities with more than 40 leading orchestras, concert series, and festivals —and a New York performance live-streamed internationally on The Violin Channel.

The annual audition is open to outstanding young instrumental soloists and ensembles, of any nationality, who do not currently have North American management representation.

This year's jury comprises Aisha Ahmad-Post, Hanna Arie-Gaifman, Valerie Coleman, Alan Gilbert, Meghan Martineau, Anthony McGill, Pekka Kuusisto, Erica Worth, Ed Yim, Tanya Bannister, Chris Williams, Tim Mar, and Alasdair Tait.

Previous CAG first prize winners include the Pacifica Quartet, violinists Jennifer Koh and Joseph Lin — and VC Artists InMo YangYoojing JangJordan Bak, Geneva Lewis, and the Verona String Quartet.