Schedule Announced for 2015 Sibelius International Violin Competition


The opening round competitor schedule for the 2015 Sibelius International Violin Competition, in Helsinki, Finland has been announced – including 7 VC ‘Young Artists’.

For the 1st round, each candidate will present the 1st movement from Bartok’s Solo Violin Sonata, 2 contrasting movements from a Bach Solo Sonata or Partita, Mozart’s ‘Rondo in C Major’ – plus a short concert work by Sibelius for violin and piano.

Monday 23rd November – 1st Round

10.00         Katerina Nazarova
10.30         Seiji Okamoto
11.00         Pekko Pulakka
11.30         VC ‘Young Artist’ Fedor Rudin

12.30         Anna Savkina
13.00         Lev Solodovnikov
13.30         Friederike Starkliff

17.00         Elly Suh
17.30         Ryosuke Suho
18.00         Mai Suzuki
18.30         Elena Tarosyan

19.30         Stephen Tavani
20.00         Diana Tishchenko
20.30         VC ‘Young Artist’ Emmanuel Tjeknavorian


Tuesday 24th November – 1st Round

10.00         Kasmir Uusitupa
10.30         Juho Valtonen
11.00         Xiao Wang
11.30         Jungyoon Yang

12.30         Minami Yoshida
13.00         Nancy Zhou
13.30         Naoka Aoki

17.00         Wonhee Bae
17.30         Hannah Soojin Cho
18.00        VC ‘Young Artist’ Sarah Christian
18.30         Sara Etelävuori

19.30         Marina Grauman
20.00        Anna Göckel


Wednesday 25th November – 1st Round 

10.00         Yoo Na Ha
10.30         Mayumi Kanagawa
11.00         VC ‘Young Artist’ Bomsori Kim
11.30         Jeein Kim

12.30         Lavrov Stepan Lavrov
13.00         Christel Lee

17.00         VC ‘Rising Star’ Kerson Leong
17.30         VC ‘Young Artist’ Zeyy Victor Li
18.00         VC ‘Young Artist’ Richard Lin
18.30         Tikhon Lukiyanenko

19.30         Kyung Ji Min
20.00        Yasuka Morizono


Opening Round live streaming available at: 

The 1st prize winner will receive €25,000 (US $28,000) and a number of important international engagements – including a performance of the Sibelius Concerto with the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra at the ‘Sibelius 150 Birthday Jubilee Gala Concert’ in Hameenlinna, Finland.

This year’s jury comprises: Chairman Veli-Matti PuumalaPierre AmoyalSerguei AzizianSigrun EdvaldsdottirPekka Kauppinen, Sung-Ju LeeCho-Liang LinGerhard Schulz and Krzysztof Wegrzyn.

Previous 1st prize winners include Oleg KaganLiana IsakadzePavel KoganYuval YaronViktoria Mullova, Ilja Kaler, Leonidas Kavakos– and VC ‘Artists’ Sergei Khachatryan and Nikita Boriso-Glebsky.

The Violin Channel, as this year’s official competition media partner will be providing live streaming coverage direct from all venues. You won’t miss a beat.



PICTURED: 2014 Sibelius International Violin Competition Competitors, VC ‘Young Artists’ Richard Lin, Zeyu Victor Li, Fedor Rudin and Kerson Leong.