Competitor Order Announced at Singapore International Violin Competition – To Commence Today


The opening round competitor order has been announced at the Inaugural Singapore International Violin Competition - to commence at 2pm local time today.

Saturday 10th January 2015
Session 1.1 (2.30-4.45pm)

  • Francisco Fullana from Spain
  • Xiaoxuan Shi from China
  • Lukas Stepp from Germany
  • Christopher Scherer from USA
  • JiEun Anna Lee from South Korea

Session 1.2 (5.15-6.45pm)

  • VC 'Young Artist' Fedor Rudin from France
  • Ui-Youn Hong from South Korea
  • Sirena Huang from USA

Sunday 11th January 2015
Session 2.1 (2.30-4.45pm)

  • Elly Suh from USA
  • Lijia Phang from Singapore
  • Yu-Ting Chen from Taiwan
  • VC 'Young Artist' Alexandra Conunova from Moldov
  • Oleksandr Korniev from Ukraine

Session 2.2 (5.15-7.30pm)

  • VC 'Young Artist' Yu-Chien Benny Tseng from Taiwan
  • Youjin Lee from South Korea
  • Mimi Jung from USA
  • Ian Ike See from Singapore
  • Karen Kido from Japan

Session 2.3 (8.30-10.30pm)

  • Yat Sze Wong from Hong Kong
  • Jun Hong Loh from Singapore
  • Chisa Kitagawa from Japan
  • VC 'Young Artist' Timothy Chooi from Canada

Monday 12th January 2015
Session 3.1 (10-12.15pm)

  • Tianyang Gao from China
  • Bomsori Kim from South Korea
  • Yuqing Zhang from China
  • VC 'Young Artist' Richard Lin from Taiwan
  • Elina Buksha from Latvia

Session 3.2 (1.30-3.45pm)

  • VC 'Young Artist' William Hagen from USA
  • Yu Ah Ok from South Korea
  • VC 'Young Artist' Boson Mo from Canada
  • Yun Tang from China
  • Eunae Koh from South Korea

Session 3.3 (4.15-5pm)

  • Petteri Iivonen from Finland
  • HyunJae Lim from South Korea
  • Ryota Kuratomi from Japan

All performances will be available on the competition's youtube page following the conclusion of each session.

The inaugural competition will be hosted by the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music and the National University of Singapore, with the 1st prize winner to receive an unprecedented USD $50,000, a CD recording with theNaxos label, the 3 year loan of a fine instrument from the Mr & Mrs Rin Kei Mei collection and a number of significant international performance opportunities – including a coveted solo engagements with the London Philharmonic Orchestra, Czech Philharmonic Orchestra and the Western Australia Symphony Orchestra.

The competition’s jury will include: Chair Qian Zhou (Singapore), Pierre Amoyal (France), Shmuel Ashkenasi (USA), Nam Yun Kim (South Korea), Takashi Shimizu (Japan), Vilmos Szabadi (Hungary), Dima Tkachenko (Ukraine), Tong Wei Dong (China) and Krzysztof Wegrzyn (Germany).

Tickets to all sessions are available at – starting from just S$10.00.

The triennial event is supported by Far East Organisation, Hong Leong Foundation, Lee Foundation, Mr & Mrs Rin Kei Mei and the National Arts Council of Sinagpore.

The Violin Channel will be reporting live from all 3 venues for the next 12 days, as the competition’s ‘Official Online Media Partner’ – You won’t miss a beat!

Pictured: VC ‘Young Artists’ William Hagen, Timothy Chooi, Richard Lin and Fedor Roudine.