Cello Candidates Announced for Tchaikovsky International Competition

Alexander Buzlov Tchaikovsky Cello Competition Cover

The 25 candidates for the 2015 Tchaikovsky International Cello Competition have been announced, in St Petersburg:

This year's cello candidates are:

Fedor Amosov (Russia)
Brannon Cho (USA)
Alexander Buzlov (Russia)
Tristan Cornut (France)
John-Henry Crawford (USA)
Leonard Elschenbroich (Germany)
Pablo Ferrandez-Castro (Spain)
Sandra Lied Haga (Norway)
Sihao He (China)
Andrei Ionuț Inoita (Romania)
Seung Min Kang (South Korea)
Anastasia Kobekina (Russia)
Hee Young Lim (South Korea)
Tao Ni (China)
Bruno Philippe (France)
Jonathan Roozeman (Netherlands)
Santiago Canon Valencia (Colombia)
Alexander Ramm (Russia)
Ivan Sendetsky (Russia)
Alexey Stadler (Russia)
Ildikó Szabo (Hungary)
Michiaki Ueno (Japan)
Valentino Worlitzsch (Germany)
Alexei Zhilin (Russia)
Rustem Khamidullin (Russia)

The 25 candidates were announced following a live audition stage in Moscow.

This year's competition, set to commence on June 17th will features 4 disciplines: violin, cello, piano and vocal – with the division winners to be announced on July 1st.

Each category winners will receive US $30,000 – with the one Grand Prix winner to be awarded an additional US $100,000.

The 2015 cello jury comprises: Wolfgang Boettcher, Mario Brunello, David Geringas, Clive Gillinson,­ Alexander Kniazev, Mischa Maisky, Ivan Monighetti, Sergei Roldugin, Martti Rousi, Lynn Harrell, Jan Vogler, Jian Wang and Myung-Wha Chung.

PICTURED: Tchaikovsky International Cello Competition candidates, Alexander Buzlov from Russia.