Two Winners Given Siemens Ensemble Prize

The Munich-based Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation announced the Riot Ensemble and the Synaesthesis Ensemble as its inaugural Ensemble Prize winners


The Riot Ensemble, from London, and the Synaesthesis Ensemble, from Vilnius, Lithuania will each receive €75,000.

With the aim of providing long-term support for the development of young ensembles, the prize is given to groups which focus entirely on contemporary repertoire and have a majority of members younger than 35.

The Riot Ensemble has given over 200 world and UK premieres since 2012 and has working relationships with composers like Clara Iannotta, Chaya Czernowin, Ann Cleare, and Georg Friedrich Haas.

Synaesthesis Ensemble introduces works of experimental Lithuanian and foreign composers performance venues around the world and was awarded the Young Artist Award from Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Lithuania.

“Since I heard we would be awarded the Ernst von Siemens Ensemble Prize, I find my mind keeps drifting back to our earliest concerts," said Aaron Holloway-Nahum, Artistic Director of the Riot Ensemble. "Planning and pushing through so many difficulties. Finding our feet. To be awarded this Prize is a moment – for me – of reflection and on looking ahead. That we’ll still be here after this disastrous year and beyond, a part of this community, doing what we love. I couldn’t be more grateful or more excited.”

"The Ernst von Siemens Foundation Ensemble Prize will allow us to intensify our work, build a strong cultural organisation and – most importantly – reaffirm our belief that Synaesthesis is not a musical utopia, but a dream in the making," Marta Finkelštein, Synaesthesis Ensemble artistic director. "We are incredibly honored and thankful for the trust placed in our potential by the Ernst von Siemens Foundation as well as the international contemporary music community."