Canadian Betty Webster Award Winner Announced

Orchestra Canada, the organization that sponsors the prize, announced conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin as this year’s winner


The annual prize celebrates those who have made outstanding contributions to Canadian orchestras.

Nézet-Séguin currently serves as Music Director of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, the Philadelphia Orchestra, and the Orchestre Métropolitain.

Previous Betty Webster Award recipients include Claire Guimond, Bramwell Tovey, Ardyth Brott, and John Gomez.

“Dear musicians across Canada, I am deeply honoured to receive the Betty Webster Award from Orchestras Canada," Yannick Nézet-Séguin said. "The Canadian orchestral scene abounds in talent and, while we are going through a rough patch these days, I am one of those who remain hopeful and believe we must stand together in the coming months. To the entire musical world, to musicians across the country, bravo and thank you for your many initiatives. It warms my heart to receive this honour."

"It was a genuine privilege to be reminded of the many ways that Canadians are making an impact on the orchestral world," said jury chair Jennifer MacDonald. "Ultimately, though, one particular nomination rose to the top, and we are honoured to name Yannick Nézet-Séguin as this year’s winner. He is a remarkable musician, visionary and humanitarian, and he continues to promote Canadian music and musicians on the world stage."