Candidates Announced for Los Angeles’ 2018 Primrose International Viola Competition

The 24 opening live-round candidates have been announced for the 2018 Primrose International Viola Competition

Primrose International Viola Competition Cover

The 24 opening live-round candidates have been announced for the 15th Primrose International Viola Competition – to be held at the Colburn School in Los Angeles from the 10th to the 16th of June, 2018.

The 2018 candidates are:

  • Jordan Bak (United States)
  • Juan Du (China)
  • Ricardo Gaspar (Portugal)
  • Erika Gray (United States)
  • Qian Hui Ho (Singapore)
  • Marthe Grimsrud Husum (Norway)
  • Aiden Kane (United States)
  • Haeji Kim (United States of America)
  • Kyuri Kim (South Korea)
  • Yana Kucherova (Russia)
  • Hae-Sue Lee (South Korea)
  • Wenguan Li (China)
  • Zoë Martin-Doike (United States)
  • Meguna Naka (Japan)
  • Johanna Nowik (United States)
  • Daniel Orsen (United States)
  • Leonid Plashinov-Johnson (United Kingdom)
  • Muriel Razavi (United States)
  • Tobias Reifland (Germany)
  • Mathis Rochat (France/Switzerland)
  • Lisa Sung (Australia)
  • Kunbo Xu (China)
  • SoHui Yun (South Korea)
  • Sarina Zickgraf (Germany)

Open to violists of any nationality 29 years and younger, the 1st prize winner will receive USD $15,000.

Presented by the Colburn School and the American Viola Society, previous Primrose International Viola Competition prize winners include violists Lawrence Power, Antoine Tamestit and VC Young Artist Matthew Lipman.

The 2018 jury will comprise: Lynn Harrell (Chairman), David Dalton, Roland Glassl, Kazuhide Isomura, Nokuthula Ngwenyama, Xidi Shen, Lars Anders Tomter and Jon Nakamatsu.

As the competition’s official 2018 international media partner, The Violin Channel will be providing exclusive rolling-coverage – live from the venue.

You won’t miss a beat!


PICTURED: 2014 Primrose International Violin Competition 1st Prize Winner, Zhanbo Zheng from China