Jury Announced for Russia's Tchaikovsky International Violin & Cello Competitions

Valery Gergiev Tchaikovsky Competition Jury Cover

Event's chairman, Valery Gergiev has today announced the jury for the 2015 Tchaikovsky International Music Competition - to be held in Moscow, from the 15th June until the 3rd of July.

The violin competition panel will comprise: Salvatore Accardo, Yuri Bashmet, Maxim Vengerov, Liana Isakadze, Leonidas Kavakos, Ilya Kaler, Boris Kuschnir, Mihaela Martin, Vadim Repin, Viktor Tretiakov, Maxim Fedotov, Vera Tsu Wei Ling, James Ehnes, Michael Haefliger and Nikolaj Znaider.

The cello competition panel will comprise: Mario Brunello, Myung-wha Chung, David Geringas, Executive and Artistic Director of Carnegie Hall Clive Gillinson, Lynn Harrell, Alexander Kniazev, Mischa Maisky, Ivan Monighetti, Sergei Roldugin and Jian Wang.

Open to violinists and cellists of any nationality, aged between 16 and 32, applications to be received by March 1st.

Previous 1st prize winners include violinists Valery Klimov, Shmuel Ashkenasi, Viktor Tretiakov, Gidon Kremer, Akiko Suwanai and Mayuko Kamio.

PICTURED: 2015 Events Chairman, Conductor Valery Gergiev