• Most Respected Classical Music Platform
  • #classicalForever

Candidates Announced for Russia’s 2019 Tchaikovsky International Cello Competition

The 25 candidates have been announced for the 2019 Tchaikovsky International Cello Competition - including 4 VC Young Artists

The 25 opening-round candidates have been announced for the 2019 Tchaikovsky International Cello Competition – to be held in St. Petersburg and Moscow, Russia from the 18th to the 27th of June, 2019.

The opening round candidates are:

  • VC Young Artist Zlatomir Fung (United States)
  • VC Young Artist Santiago Cañón-Valencia (Columbia)
  • VC Young Artist Benedict Kloeckner (Germany)
  • VC Young Artist Jonathan Swensen (Denmark)
  • Fyodor Amosov (Russia)
  • Alexander Warenberg (Netherlands)
  • Wassily Gerassimez (Germany)
  • Edward Johannes Gray (United States)
  • Kim Ga-eun (South Korea)
  • Anastasia Kobekina (Russia)
  • Elia Cohen Weissert (Israel)
  • Christoph Croisé (Switzerland)
  • Jeonghyoun Lee (South Korea)
  • Taeguk Mun (South Korea)
  • Senja Elina Rummukainen (Finland)
  • Haruma Sato (Japan)
  • Ivan Sendetskii (Russia)
  • Ivan Skanavi (Russia)
  • Michiaki Ueno (Japan)
  • Rolando de la Guadalupe Fernández Lara (Mexico)
  • Alfredo Martínez Ferre (Spain)
  • Sandra Lied Haga (Norway)
  • Yibai Chen (China)
  • Ha Young Choi (South Korea)
  • Mizunо Yuya (Japan)

This year’s competition will be held across 6 categories – Piano, Violin, Cello, Voice, Woodwinds and Brass Instruments.

Each category winners will receive US $30,000 – with the one Tchaikovsky Competition Grand Prix winner to be awarded an additional US $100,000.

The 2019 jury will comprise: Sir Clive Gillinson (Chair), Myung-Wha Chung, Ralph Kirshbaum, Truls Mørk, Sergei Roldugin, Jan Vogler, Jian Wang, Mario Brunello, Karine Georgian, Mischa Maisky, Daniel Müller-Schott, Tsuyoshi Tsutsumi and Istán Várdi.

Previous 1st prize winners include: David Geringas, Denis Shapovalov, Narek Hakhnazaryan and Andrei Ioniță.

This year's violin candidates have also today been announced.

upcoming events

april 2024

23aprAll Day26Lyon International Chamber Music Competition(All Day) Université Lumière Lyon 2, 18 quai Claude Bernard 69365 Lyon, FranceEvent Type :competitions Event Tagschamber music,chamber music competition,Lyon International Chamber Music CompetitionFOLLOW

may 2024

06may01junQueen Elisabeth Violin Competition(may 6) 12:00 am - (june 1) 11:59 pm Flagey ASBL-VZW, Pl. Sainte-Croix, 1050 Bruxelles, BelgiumEvent Type :competitions Event Tagscompetition,Queen Elisabeth Violin Competition,violinFOLLOW

07mayAll Day13Prague Spring International Violin Competition(All Day) Rudolfinum, Alšovo nábř. 79/12, 110 00 Staré město-Staré Město, CzechiaEvent Type :competitions Event TagsPrague Spring International Violin Competition,violin competitionFOLLOW

10mayAll Day1251st Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition(All Day) University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN 46556 USAEvent Type :competitions Event TagsFischoff Chamber Music CompetitionFOLLOW

27mayAll Day31New York Classic Violin Competition(All Day) Manhattan School of Music, 130 Claremont Ave, New York, NY 10027Event Type :competitions Event TagsClassic Violin Olympus International Competition,violin competitionFOLLOW


Get ALL our latest conveniently by EMAIL

Our newsletter is trusted by over 100,000+ industry professionals around the world

We deliver news straight to your inbox and will never share your data.
You'll never miss a beat!

click left click right