Shanghai Isaac Stern Violin Competition Candidates Announced

This year's competition kicks off on August 12, 2021, in Shanghai, China


The Shanghai Isaac Stern International Violin Competition, in Shanghai, China has announced its opening-round candidates.

The 2020 candidates comprise:

  • VC Young Artist SooBeen Lee (South Korea)
  • Oganes Arustamov (Russia)
  • Yunfei Bai (China)
  • Marie Bégin (Canada)
  • Stefan Besan (Romania)
  • Angela Sin Ying Chan (Hong Kong, China)
  • Hawijch Elders (Netherlands)
  • Hiu Sing Fan (Hong Kong, China)
  • Liucong Feng (China)
  • Kristine Clair Galano (Philippines)
  • Lusine Harutyunyan (Armenia)
  • Maja Horvat (Slovenia)
  • Sayuri Kuru (Japan)
  • Alice Lee (Canada)
  • Shannon Lee (United States)
  • William Lee (Taiwan/China)
  • Youjin Lee (South Korea)
  • Thomas Lefort (France)
  • Ruifeng Lin (China)
  • Charlie Lovell-Jones (United Kingdom)
  • Nao Mizukoshi (Japan)
  • Elias David Moncado (Germany)
  • Ashley Jeehyun Park (United States)
  • Yue Qian (China)
  • Anna Savkina (Russia)
  • Felicitas Schiffner (Germany)
  • Zixuan Shen (China)
  • Steven Song (United States)
  • Haozhe Song (China)
  • Stepan Starikov (Russia)
  • Sophia Su (United States)
  • Katherine Woo (United States)
  • Rino Yoshimoto (Japan)
  • Arata Yumi (Japan)
  • Jingzhi Zhang (China)
  • Philip Zuckerman (Sweden)

This opening round and semi-final rounds will be held online this year and the 6 finalists will travel to Shanghai in 2022 for the final round. This year's jury will adjudicate online from all over the world.

“The pandemic has dealt a blow to the global performing arts industry, and it has also caused many young people to lose opportunities. We cannot let them wait for too long. The violin competition is restarting online, and we hope to give a stage to young people from different countries to allow them to display their talents, realize their dreams, and use music to convey confidence and hope to the world" said the president of the Organisation Committee Long Yu.

Open to violinists of any nationality aged between 16 and 32, the 2021 1st prize winner will receive US $100,000. 

The 2021 jury will comprise David Stern (Co-Chair), Vera Tsu Weiling (Co-Chair), Martin Campbell-WhiteGlenn DicterowEmmanuel HondréWeigang LiNing FengPhilip SetzerHagai ShahamJoel SmirnoffKyoko TakezawaMaxim Vengerov, and Jian Wang.

As the competition's official international broadcaster, all rounds will be streamed on The Violin Channel. You won't miss a beat.