Finalists Announced for 2021 American Prize in Orchestral Performance

The winner of the competition will receive cash awards, professional adjudication, and national recognition


The American Prize National Nonprofit Competitions in the Performing Arts announced the three finalists of the Orchestral Performance Award — Professional Division. 

Founded in 2010, the American Prize is a series of non-profit, national competitions, attracting contestants from across the United States who represent hundreds of communities and arts organizations.

It is recognized as one of the most comprehensive series of competitions in the country, designed to reward the best in the performing arts schools and churches, both at community and professional levels. 

The 2021 finalists are:

  • Orlando Cela, Lowell Chamber Orchestra (Arlington, MA)
  •  Wes Kenney, Fort Collins Symphony (Fort Collins, CO)
  • Jason Lim, McKinney Philharmonic Orchestra (McKinney, TX)


The winner of the award will be announced soon.