• Most Respected Classical Music Platform
  • #classicalForever

Dallas Opera Announces 2021 All-Female Conducting Fellows

Launched in 2015, it is the only program of its kind in the world and seeks to address the extreme gender imbalance of leadership on the podium in opera companies

This week, The Dallas Opera has announced the seven Conducting Fellows for the 2021 Dallas Opera Hart Institute.

The women selected are:

Yeo Ryeong Ahn (South Korea)
• Christine Brandes (USA)
Michelle Di Russo (Argentina)
Barbara Dragan (Poland)
Chelsea Gallo (USA)
Elinor Rufeizen (Israel)
Susannah Wapshott (UK)

The Institute, scheduled for the 8th to the 19th of February, 2021, will conduct the two-week residency virtually due to the restrictions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Musical training and masterclasses at the highest international level, as well as mentorship in how to navigate the industry, including making the connections vital to successful careers, are all part of the curriculum. The goal is to help women conductors advance their careers and find employment in their chosen field,” Dallas Opera CEO Ian Derrer said.

The 2021 Hart Institute faculty includes Italian conductor Carlo Montanaro and French-American conductor Elizabeth Askren.

upcoming events

july 2024

16julAll Day27Johann Sebastian Bach International Cello & Baroque Cello Competition(All Day) Thomaskirche Leipzig, Thomaskirchhof, Thomaskirchhof 18, 04109 Leipzig, GermanyEvent Type :competitions Event TagsBaroque Cello Competition,Cello Competition,Johann Sebastian Bach International Cello CompetitionFOLLOW


Get ALL our latest conveniently by EMAIL

Our newsletter is trusted by over 100,000+ industry professionals around the world

We deliver news straight to your inbox and will never share your data.
You'll never miss a beat!

click left click right