A password will be e-mailed to you. Cancel




  • Most Respected Classical Music Platform
  • #classicalForever

Kloster Schöntal International Violin Competition Announces Participants

The 19th International Violin Competition in Schöntal Monastery will begin with an opening concert on August 27, 2022

37 violinists qualified for the 19th edition of the Kloster Schöntal International Violin Competition, to be held in Kloster Schöntal (Baden-Württemberg), Germany, from August 27 – September 4, 2022.

More than international 30 participants in three age groups will face the international jury of experts — which includes Cristina Goicea, Rebekka Hartmann, Axel Strauss, Michael Veimann, and Florian Leonhard. Jury President is the competition's founder Prof. Petru Munteanu.

The competition is split up into three age categories: up to 14-years-old, 15 to 17-years-old, and 18 to 21-years-old. The 37 candidates who will compete in the next round include:


First Age Group:

  • Amina Akhmetzhanova
  • Philipp Chernomor
  • Yu Wa Ocean Chow
  • Mathilda Dendorfer
  • Shang.En Hsieh
  • Sebastian Manning
  • Lois Muntean
  • Juan Jose Pena Aguirre
  • Vasilisa Sokolova
  • Till Stümke
  • Yadan Zheng


Second Age Group:

  • Moë Dierstein
  • Jialin Ding
  • Jennifer Gheorghita
  • Isabell Karlsson
  • Alexaander Kulitskiy
  • Anne Sophie Luong
  • Tareq Matar
  • Tokuji Miyasaka
  • Ryota Nakamura
  • Jiyu Oh
  • Isabelle Raviol
  • Sofija Vasecka
  • Mingnan Mue


Third Age Group:

  • Pijus Česaitis
  • Joshua Galasse
  • Pauline Hoffmann
  • Sara Ispas
  • Céleste Klingelschmitt
  • Angi Lai
  • Aijia Li
  • Elena Meyer
  • Veronika Rädler
  • Mia Ruubel
  • Alberto Sanz Rivera
  • Katharina Strepp
  • Ashley Tsai

The prize money offered is up to € 24.000. In addition, the Jury may award the Reinhold Würth Promotion Prize for further education in music (€ 5000) and an appearance as a soloist with the Würth Philharmonic Orchestra.

The patron of the competition, Prof. Dr. Reinhold Würth, together with the Würth Group and the Würth Foundation, also supports the competition financially and offers some of the prize money. Further cash prizes are awarded on behalf of the company ebm-papst Mulfingen and Sparkasse Hohenlohekreis. Material prizes are donated by the companies GEWA, Masuratini, and Paganino. In total, cash and non-cash prizes of over 30,000 EUR will be distributed.

Previous major prize winners include VC Artists InMo Yang, Sarah Christian, Yury Revich, Igor Pikayzen, Alexander Conunova, Nikita Boriso-Glebsky, Rennosuke Fukuda, Ziyu He, and Ioana Christina Goicea.

Watch all rounds live on The Violin Channel. All further information about the competition can be found here.


january, 2023


the violin channel paint brush logo

Get ALL our latest conveniently by EMAIL

Our newsletter is trusted by over 100,000+ industry professionals around the world

We deliver news straight to your inbox and will never share your data.
You'll never miss a beat!