Jury Announced for 2016 Montreal International Violin Competition


The jury has today been announced for the 2016 Montreal International Violin Competition - to be held in Montreal, Canada from May 22nd to June 2nd.

This year’s jury comprises: Pierre Amoyal, Boris Brott, Boris Garlitsky, Ida Kavafian, Mihaela Martin, Vera Tsu Wei-Ling and Kathleen Winkler.

It has also been announced that conductor Giancarlo Guerrero and the Montreal Symphony Orchestra will accompany the 2016 finalists.

“I am delighted to return to Canada to be a part of the Concours musical international de Montréal … it will be a great honor to conduct the fabulous Orchestre symphonique de Montréal and accompany the next generation of violin virtuosos,” Maestro Guerrero has said.

Open to violinists of any nationality, aged 29 years or younger, the 1st prize winner will receive $30,000 CAD (US $23,000) – and a number of important international engagements.

Previous prize winners include VC ‘Artists’ Benjamin Beilman, Nikita Borioso-Glebsky, Stephen Waarts, Zeyu Victor Li and Fedor Rudin.

Applications to be received by January 15th, 2016.

For application details, visit: http://bit.ly/1W38JgR

PICTURED: 2010 Montreal International Violin Competition 1st Prize Winner, VC ‘Artist’ Benjamin Beilman from the United States