Jury Announced for Next Week's Queen Elisabeth Competition

Jury Queen Elisabeth Competition Cover

The Jury for the 2015 Queen Elisabeth International Violin Competition has today been announced, in Brussels, Belgium.

The 2015 competition jury comprises: Chairperson Arie Van Lysebeth, Pierre Amoyal, Patrice Fontanarosa, Daniel Hope, Nai-Yuan Hu, Dong-Suk Kang, Nam Yun Kim, Mihaela Martin, Midori, Natalia Prischepenko, Marco Rizzi, Akiko Suwanai and Gilbert Varga.

Widely respected as one of the most prestigious and coveted classical music prizes in the world, this year's 1st round will commence on the morning of Monday May 4th - with the final to conclude on the May 30th.

The 1st prize winner will receive 25,000 Euro (USD$31,000), a CD recording, a number of international concert engagements and the 3 year use of the ‘Huggins’ Stradivarius – on generous loan from the Nippon Music Foundation.

Previous 1st prize winners include: David Oistrakh, Leonid Kogan, Jaime Laredo, Philippe Hirschhorn, Miriam Fried, Vadim Repin, Nikolaj Znaider and VC ‘Young Artists’ Sergey Khachatryan, Ray Chen and Andrey Baranov.

The Violin Channel will be providing live coverage from this year’s event in Brussels.


PICTURED: 2015 Queen Elisaebeth International Violin Competition jury members: Pierra Amoyal, Midori Goto and Daniel Hope
Competitor Order Announced for Queen Elisabeth Violin Competition
Candidates Announced for Queen Elisabeth Competition – Including 7 VC ‘Young Artists’