Semi-Final Schedule Announced for Sibelius International Violin Competition


The Semi-Final competitor schedule for the 2015 Sibelius International Violin Competition, in Helsinki, Finland has been announced – including 7 VC ‘Young Artists’.

For the Semi-Final round, each candidate will present a major Sonata for Violin & Piano, two ‘Humoresques’ for violin and piano by Sibelius, a virtuosic work of their own choice – and a new piece commissioned by the competition.

Friday 27th November - Semi-Final Round

11.00         Pekko Pulakka (Finland)
11.30         VC ‘Young Artist’ Fedor Rudin (France)

12.30         Friederike Starkliff (Germany)

17.00         Elly Suh (United States/South Korea)
18.00         Stephen Tavani (United States)

19.30         Diana Tishchenko (Ukraine)
20.30         VC ‘Young Artist’ Emmanuel Tjeknavorian (Austria)


Saturday 28th November - Semi-Final Round

10.00         Xiao Wang (China)
11.00         Minami Yoshida (Japan)

12.30         Nancy Zhou (United States)

17.00         VC ‘Young Artist’ Sarah Christian (Germany)
18.00         Sara Etelävuori (Finland)

19.30         Anna Göckel (France)
20.30         Mayumi Kanagawa (United States)


Sunday 29th November - Semi-Final Round

10.00         VC ‘Young Artist’ Bomsori Kim (South Korea)
11.00         Christel Lee (United States)

12.30         VC ‘Rising Star’ Kerson Leong (Canada)

17.00         VC ‘Young Artist’ Zeyu Victor Li (China)
18.00         VC ‘Young Artist’ Richard Lin (Taiwan/United States)

19.30         Kyung Ji Min (South Korea)


Live streaming available at the Finnish Broadcaster Yle: 


The 1st prize winner will receive €25,000 (US $28,000) and a number of important international engagements – including a performance of the Sibelius Concerto with the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra at the ‘Sibelius 150 Birthday Jubilee Gala Concert’ in Hameenlinna, Finland.

This year’s jury comprises: Chairman Veli-Matti Puumala, Pierre Amoyal, Serguei Azizian, Sigrun Edvaldsdottir, Pekka Kauppinen, Sung-Ju Lee, Cho-Liang Lin, Gerhard Schulz and Krzysztof Wegrzyn.
Previous 1st prize winners include Oleg Kagan, Liana Isakadze, Pavel Kogan, Yuval Yaron, Viktoria Mullova, Ilja Kaler, Leonidas Kavakos– and VC ‘Artists’ Sergei Khachatryan and Nikita Boriso-Glebsky.

The Violin Channel, as this year’s official competition media partner will be providing live streaming coverage direct from all venues. You won’t miss a beat.

PICTURED: 2014 Sibelius International Violin Competition Competitors, VC ‘Young Artists’ Richard Lin, Zeyu Victor Li, Fedor Rudin and Kerson Leong.