Applications Open for 2022 Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition

Open to international string quartets and piano trios with all members under the age of 35, the competition will take place in Melbourne, Australia from July 3-10, 2022

MICMC 2022


Hosted by Musica Viva Australia, the first prize-winning ensemble in the string quartet category will be awarded $30,000 AUD ($22,000 USD), and the first prize-winning ensemble in the piano trio category will receive $22,500 AUD ($16,500 USD).

The Grand Prize winning ensemble, awarded to either the 1st prize winners of the string quartet or piano trio categories, will receive an additional $30,000 AUD cash, a number of Musica Viva performance opportunities in Australia and significant career-enhancing professional development support.

$150,000 AUD will be awarded in total prizes.

“I love being involved with MICMC because I remember how exciting it was to take part in similar international competitions when I was in a budding professional string quartet,” Wilma Smith, Musica Viva’s Artistic Director of Competitions, said.

“I know how much my quartet benefitted from the intensive work required to prepare for a competition and how wonderful it was to meet our peers from around the world, in some cases, striking up life-long friendships. Giving young professional groups the chance to kick-start a career in chamber music is why MICMC exists and we aim to make it one of the best experiences a group can have on the competition circuit!” she said.

Established in 1991 and held every four years, previous Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition first prize winners include the Goldmund Quartett, Trio Marvin, Noga Quartet, Trio Rafele, Atos Trio, Paizo Quartet, Aviv String Quartet, Trio Jean Paul and the Leningrad String Quartet.

The preliminary round jury will include Josephine Vains and Stephen McIntyre. The live round jury will include Amandine Savary, Cho-Liang Lin, Hsin-Yun Huang, Kirsten Dawes, Louise Hopkins, Lukas Hagen, and Timo-Veikko Valve.

Applications to be received by October 1, 2021.

For more information, please visit: