Balourdet String Quartet Wins Chamber Music Yellow Springs Competition

The ensemble was also named the winner of the Audience Favorite Prize


Currently in residence at New England Conservatory's Professional String Quartet Program, the Balourdet String Quartet are top prize winners at the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition and the Carl Nielsen International Chamber Music Competition. Balourdet will receive $4,500.

The ensemble is comprised of violinists Angela Bae and Justin DeFilippis, violist Benjamin Zannoni, and cellist Russell Houston. They work primarily with Paul Katz at the New England Conservatory and was formed in 2018 at Rice University in Houston, Texas.

"Thank you Chamber Music Yellow Springs Competition and thank you to all of our friends who voted for us!" the quartet wrote on their Facebook.

Second place was awarded to Trio Gaia.

This year's jury was comprised of Jonathan Bailey Holland, Patrick Reynolds, and Kia-Hui Tan.

Former first prize winners of the competition include VC Artist Attacca Quartet.