• Most Respected Classical Music Platform
  • #classicalForever

Candidates Announced for Czech Republic's 2018 Prague Spring International Cello Competition

The 59 candidates have been announced for the 2018 Prague Spring International Cello Competition 

The 59 candidates have been announced for the 2018 Prague Spring International Cello Competition – to be held in Prague, Czech Republic from the 7th to the 15th of May.

The 2018 opening round candidates are:

  • Konstantin Bruns (Germany)
  • Leonardo Chiodo (Finland)
  • Boseong Cho (South Korea)
  • Hun Choi (South Korea)
  • Elia Weissert Cohen (Germany)
  • Carla Oliveras Conangla (Spain)
  • John Crawford (United States)
  • Christoph Croisé (Switzerland)
  • David Simon Eberle (Germany)
  • Anastasia Feruleva (Russia)
  • Sebastian Fritsch (Germany)
  • Yaroslav Georgiev (Russia)
  • Julia Hagen (Austria)
  • Dora Hájková (Czech Republic) 
  • Makio Horie (Japan)
  • Rastislav Huba (Slovakia)
  • Phil-Young Hyun (South Korea)
  • Yu Ito (Japan)
  • Woochan Jeong (South Korea)
  • Hayeon Kang (South Korea)
  • Daeyoun Kim (South Korea)
  • James (Jeonghwan) Kim (South Korea)
  • David Lee (United States)
  • Yup Geun Lee (South Korea)
  • Chan Hoe Lee (South Korea)
  • Christine (JeongHyoun) Lee (South Korea)
  • Kanghyun Lee (South Korea)
  • KyungJun Lee (South Korea)
  • MinJin Lee (South Korea)
  • Young Seo Lee (South Korea)
  • Vincent Lo (Australia)
  • Olivier Marger (France)
  • Marcel Markowski (Poland)
  • Gabriel Martins (United States)
  • Nuala McKenna (Germany)
  • Anna Minten (Switzerland)
  • JeongHeon Nam (South Korea)
  • Yurina Nam (South Korea)
  • Gunwoo Park (South Korea)
  • Václav Petr (Czech Republic)
  • Thibaut Reznicek (France)
  • Senja Rummukainen (Finland)
  • Aleksey Shadrin (Ukraine)
  • Eduard Šístek (Czech Republic)
  • Ivan Skanavi (Russia)
  • Minje Song (South Korea)
  • Zuzanna Sosnowska (Poland)
  • Ferenc Endre Stankowsky (Hungary)
  • Francesco Stefanelli (Italy)
  • Matěj Štěpánek (Czech Republic)
  • Laura Szabó (Hungary)
  • Daniel Thorell (Sweden)
  • Han-Hsing Tsai (Taiwan)
  • Vilém Vlček (Czech Republic)
  • Kristina Vocetková (Czech Republic)
  • Guillaume Wang (Australia)
  • Ferdinand Moritz Weigert (Germany)
  • Jee-In You (South Korea)
  • Aihao Zheng (China)


Open to candidates of any nationality aged 30 years and under, the 1st prize winner will receive CZK 200,000 (US $9,200).

Previous prize-winners include cellists Mstislav RostropovichSaša Večtomov and Natalia Gutman.

The 2018 jury will comprise: Michal Kaňka (Chairperson), Annie Gastinel, Christian Poltéra, Emil Rovner, Jens Peter Maintz, Mikael Ericsson, and Quirine Viersen.

upcoming events

july 2024

16julAll Day27Johann Sebastian Bach International Cello & Baroque Cello Competition(All Day) Thomaskirche Leipzig, Thomaskirchhof, Thomaskirchhof 18, 04109 Leipzig, GermanyEvent Type :competitions Event TagsBaroque Cello Competition,Cello Competition,Johann Sebastian Bach International Cello CompetitionFOLLOW


Get ALL our latest conveniently by EMAIL

Our newsletter is trusted by over 100,000+ industry professionals around the world

We deliver news straight to your inbox and will never share your data.
You'll never miss a beat!

click left click right