Competitors Announced for 2013 Gisborne International, in New Zealand


The 52 competitors for the 2013 Gisborne International Music Competition, in New Zealand have today been announced

They are: Benjamin Adler (Violin), Victor Avila-Luvsangenden (Violin), Julian Baker (Violin), Jack Bailey (Cello), Britta Balzat (Violin), Cameron Campbell (Viola), Maize Cao (Violin), Eddy Chen (Violin), Courtenay Cleary (Violin), Anna Da Silva Chen (Violin), Lianne Eveleens (Flute), Thomas Eves (Trumpet), Jamie Garrick (Classical Guitar), Alex Geary (Violin), Lucy Gijsbers (Cello), Lauren Grout (Flute), Jesbery Hartono (Cello), Pearl Huang (Flute), John Jang (Clarinet) James Jin (Violin), Kenny Keppel (Clarinet), Carlotte Ketel (Cello), Anne Seungeun Kim (Violin), Stella Kim (Violin), Catherine Kwak (Cello), Rebecca Leathwick (Violin), Andrey Lebedev (Classical Guitar), Matthew Lee (Flute), Sungpil Lee (Clarinet), Madeline Lie (Double Bass), Nattanan Low (Clarinet), Sam Lucas (Cello), Ngaruaroha Martin (Violin), Alexander McFarlane (Viola), Yejin Min (Violin), Ray Ong (Violin), David Park (Clarinet), Lina Park (Flute), Nicholas Price (Classical Guitar), Madeline Procopio (Violin), Priscilla Scanlan (Flute), Jacky Siu (Cello), Cameron Sloan (Classical Guitar), Lisa Sung (Viola), Matthew Sutton (Classical Guitar), Amelia Taylor (Violin), Sonia Wilson (Violin), Brett Yang (Violin), Shuxiang Yang (Violin), Yune-Sang Yune (Flute), Tiantian Zhu (Bassoon) and Emma Zhuang (Violin)

The annual competition, open to solo orchestral instrumentalists aged 16-25, is regarded as one of the most significant development bursaries in the Australasian region

1st prize includes $8,000 NZD and a solo engagement with the Vector Wellington Orchestra

The opening round will commence on the 1st December - with the final to conclude on the 7th

The Violin Channel will keep you abreast of the results