Semi-Finalists Announced for New York’s Young Concert Artists Auditions

The 35 candidates advancing to the Semi-Final stage of the 2018 Young Concert Artists International Auditions have been in announced

Aurélien Pascal

The 35 candidates advancing to the Semi-Final stage of the 2018 Young Concert Artists International Auditions, in New York City, have been announced.

The 2018 Young Concert Artists International Auditions Semi-Finalists are:

  • VC Young Artist Aurélien Pascal (Cello)
  • Oliver Aldort (Cello)
  • Jordan Bak (Viola)
  • Joshua Brown (Violin)
  • Luigi Carroccia (Piano)
  • Sae Yoon Chon (Piano)
  • Jean-Baptiste Doulcet (Piano)
  • Erlendis Guitar Quartet
  • Rebecca Farley (Soprano)
  • Adélaïde Ferriere (Marimba)
  • Juan Perez Floristan (Piano)
  • Martín García García (Piano)
  • Randall Goosby (Violin)
  • Nicholas Ho (Piano)
  • Simon Höfele (Trumpet)
  • Risa Hokamura (Violin)
  • Sahun Hong (Piano)
  • Hilda Huang (Piano)
  • Rixiang Huang (Piano)
  • Iwo Jedynecki and Karolina Mikołajczyk (Violin & Accordion Duo)
  • Bixby Kennedy (Clarinet)
  • Ian Koziara (Tenor)
  • Abigel Kralik (Violin)
  • Konstantin Krimmel (Baritone)
  • Maxim Lando (Piano)
  • Haesue Lee (Viola)
  • Christine Lee (Cello)
  • Soran Lind (Saxophone)
  • Ellen McAteer (Soprano)
  • Carolina Lopez Moreno (Soprano)
  • Aristo Sham (Piano)
  • Seif El Din Sherif (Piano)
  • Jonathan Swensen (Cello)
  • HsiYun Wu (Piano)

Open to international instrumentalists aged 16 and 26, the 2018 winners will join the Young Concert Artists roster – granting access to a minimum of 3 years management services, career engagements, publicity and career guidance – plus coveted recital debuts in New York City and at the Washington DC Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

Founded in 1961 by Susan Wadsworth, The Young Concert Artists International Auditions differ from a competition, as there are no rankings, and any number of winners can be selected – with each candidate competing against a standard of excellence, not each other.

Previous recipients include: Pinchas Zukerman, Ida Kavafian, Chee-Yun, Emanuel Ax, Murray Perahia and Anne Akiko Meyers – and VC Artists Paul Huang, Bella Hristova, Benjamin Beilman, Ray Chen, Stephen Warts, Zlatomir Fung, Edgar Moreau, Xavier Foley, SooBeen Lee and Zlatomir Fung.

The Final round of auditions, to be held at Merkin Concert Hall in New York City on the 11th of November, will be streamed live on The Violin Channel.