German 'Echo Klassik' Recording Industry Accolades Awarded

Echo Klassic David Garrett Vilde Frang Cover

The 58 prize recipients at the 2015 Echo Klassik European recording industry awards have today been announced – including violinists Vilde Frang, Tianwa Yang, Nemanja Radulovic, Isabelle Faust and David Garrett.

Awarded by the German Music Industry Association, the Deutsche Phono-Akademie, the annual awards honour outstanding and successful German national and international recorded performances.

The coveted 'Violin Instrumentalist of the Year' prize was awarded to Chinese-virtuoso Tianwa Yang for her recording of Ysaye's 6 Solo Sonatas – on the Naxos label.

The 'Violin Newcomer of the Year' accolade was awarded to 29 year old Franco-Serbian violinist Nemanja Radulovic, for his Deutsche Grammophon release 'Journey East'.

The 'Classical Without Boarders' prize was awarded to the American-based Kronos String Quartet for their 'A Thousand Thoughts' release.

'Concert Recording of the Year (Music Upto And Including the 19th Century)' was awarded to Norwegian violin virtuoso Vilde Frang – for her recordings of Mozart's 1st and 5th Violin Concertos and the Sinfonia Concertante, with violist Maxim Rysanov – on Warner Classics.

'19th Century Music Concert Recording of the Year' was awarded to violinist Isabelle Faust for her Robert Schumann disc, recorded with conductor Pablo Heras Casado and the Freiburger Barockorchester – on the Harmonia Mundi label.

'17th/18th Century String Chamber Music Recording of the Year' was awarded to the Spanish-based Casal Quartet – for their recording of Richter's Seven String Quartets, on the Solo Musica label.

'19th Century String Chamber Music Recording of the Year' was awarded to the German-based Artemis Quartet for their recording of Mendelssohn's String Quartet Op. 44 and 80 – on the Erato label.

The 'Best Selling CD of the Year' was awarded to German violinist David Garrett for his 'Timeless: Brahms & Bruch Violin Concertos' release - with Zubin Mehta and the Israel Philharmonic.

Full prize winners, available at: